Self-Initiated Design Work Develops Dream Jobs

Most of the freelancers we interview didn’t start off with dream clients or the exact type of work they eventually wanted, but they created self-initiated work for their portfolio, they took some jobs initially for very low rates, they approached companies they’ve always wanted to work for, and basically put out there what they wanted. With hard work and perseverance, they slowly started getting the jobs and clients they’ve always dreamt of.

It’s always important to know what you want and what you need.
Have it on the tip of your tongue, so that you can give and receive from others.

One thought on “Self-Initiated Design Work Develops Dream Jobs

  1. I’ve been thinking about "want I want and what I need" this entire summer, Rebecca. I’ve been going to museums and others places to explore my interest and find out what I want to do after I graduate. I was thinking about children’s book illustration, but I think that’s not exactly what I want to do. Have you been to Pixar Exhibition at Oakland Museum? That exhibition really interested me, and I would love to find out more about how illustrators collaborate with animators to create animated films. Thanks for the wonderful post 🙂

Leave a Reply

