Online Visual Portfolios and Web Presence for Art Teacher and Students

I’ve been training my interns to develop a web presence and online visual portfolios. (And this might help HS students, too)
I have gotten a few jobs from just making prototypes of what I wanted to do in the future.
Making arts learning visible and designthinking are themes for me this year.

I want to create something like this…… the story of the studio in comic book form
http://dschool.stanford.edu/k12/our_story.php

Of course, I’m an entrepreneur so I’m always thinking of marketing and building creative community.
I’ve been a teaching artist for 24 years and have taught in a variety of scenarios.
I’ve always been able to find work doing what I love. And I’ve needed to keep growing into new opportunities.

Yes, it’s a lot of work.
I think of it as my happiness and life purpose.

………….

I’ve been collaborating on the Tate Modern’s Turbinegeneration Project and just got off a call about improving the site /functionality.
I said that giving new teachers a form toolkit would be really helpful.
For example, photo release form, letter to parents / students / teachers / administrators about the project, philosophy and links, how to participate, press release blurbs for school newsletters, ect.

fyi …..here’s some planning, promotion and advocacy resource links …..
http://www.artiseducation.org/community_art-is-education

…………

I’ve also been very amused by Frank Chimero’s Classroom Rules (for his college aged students)

http://artyowzaintern.posterous.com/frank-chimero-classroom-rules-for-young-d…

Leave a Reply

