Audacity is the winning strategy of every artist

I had a funny thought…….
what if I taught my kids to become a famous artist and we could imitate them.
Perhaps one kid wins a class lottery and everyone works on editions of the winning artist’s artwork for the day and we blog about it.
This is how most contemporary artists work to scale.  (hiring assistants, licensing, ect.)  ( Has anyone read the book, Seven Days in the Art World?” …) 

When I was in college, the chair of the art department (after learning that he didn’t win an award)  gathered all of the BFA students in the painting studio.
He then told us he would randomly award us.
I did not get randomly awarded and it made a big impression on me.

It did teach me to create my own opportunities and award myself.
My peers also started their own things also……. the kick ass awards  and thepotatoeaters.

A couple other lessons have been good for me

1. it’s better to ask forgiveness than permission

2. Often audacity, not authentic talent, confers fame on an artist.  (From The Artist’s Way, Julia Cameron)
Leave a Reply

